Halloween Food Day 25: Popcorn Balls

Today was Wade’s last day of work before the Halloween weekend, so I wanted to take a treat into him and his coworkers.  I haven’t ever made popcorn balls before, so my Mom helped me make these.  She cooked the corn syrup mixture to the hard ball stage.  Now I know what that is!  I popped the popcorn on the stove.

I’m not printing the ingredients or directions since I didn’t adapt anything except for adding some red and yellow food coloring.

Recipe from Paula Deen

We used the Paula Deen recipe for making the popcorn balls and tint the corn syrup mixture orange.  Pour over the popcorn and mix QUICKLY!  You may want one person to pour and the other to mix so all the syrup does not go to the bottom of the pan and stick.  Keep some cool water by to dip your hands when you form the popcorn balls.

Leave a Reply

